Today Kaspersky Internet Security popped up on my PC screen with the news that it would expire in 30 days and that I could renew it (and save “up to 20%”) by clicking on the big red “Renew Now” button. Here’s that, in Italian.
I did, and was taken to the Renewal page. After clicking all the buttons and paying, I discovered I had not renewed Kaspersky Internet Security but had purchased, for the first time. Kaspersky Total Security. I wasn’t paying enough attention and was foolled by the “Renew” (Rinnovo) badge.
So, it cost me 20% more than what I thought I was renewing. Well done, Kaspersky sales department! I’Il remember this next year.
The only other immediate downside (for me, the client) is I received an email welcoming me to Kaspersky and inviting me to create a password to “access the client area”. The link in the email goes to a page telling me, cryptically, to “insert your log-in to receive your password”. But I already have a MyKaspersky account, where my KIS is passing it’s final 30 days before expiring, never to be renewed. Could that mean that I’ve got a brand new Kaspersky account for my brand new purchase? Or is Kaspersky telling me to create a new password for my existing account?